I Am

I Am
by Wendy Visser

I am a sky-travelling balloon
driven by heat
in the black cotton clouds
of a pending storm.

I am the sound of traffic
that craves the ease
of horse and buggy
on country lanes
with sun’s eyelet touch
on muslin shoulders.

I am a weeping willow
whose lace-tossed leaves
rise above the flood
in the wet melody
of a lone wolf’s howl.

I am nine times
my reflective age of six
when everything is made of dreams
and death is miles away.


Wendy Visser is a long time member of the Cambridge Writers Collective and this blog feature is one of the poems included in her just-released second poetry collection, ‘This Side of Beyond’. Books are available through the publisher,Craigleigh Press, or from the author.

Leave a Reply

