Scribbling Away Writer’s Block

by Jean Selinger

Image: Grant Cochrane / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I scribble. Yes, I admit it. I am a scribbler. Not in the scholarly sense, but in the I have a scrap of paper and a writing implement and an idea. Or a word. Or a phrase, that is worthy of being in a story or a poem I may someday write.

This past year, I have been searching fearfully and fearlessly for a place in the world. It’s been like living in a country and western song. My beloved dog Howie died early this year, my husband had another surgery to repair his annoying dislocating hip, I lost my job, my daughter went through a series of hospitalizations for an undefined illness that nearly did me in with worry, and, more recently, my mother had a heart attack, and now has stents in her arteries. This week, I am going to the funeral of a dear friend, who fought cancer for four years and passed on Sunday. She died about two hours after arriving at the hospice for care in her final hours. She fought death right to the end. I also have my own health and spiritual issues that are just now starting to heal. It’s been a tough year, and I didn’t write any of it down. My soul wasn’t able to feed the words to the pen, and actually use a notebook. Creativity was not at the top of my list of priorities.

However, recently I have become determined to write again. There is a spark deep inside me that is trying to ignite. The CWC BLOG is a treasure. I can keep up with everyone’s ideas, and have a few other websites that I can get ideas from. So for now, I scribble, on the back of receipts, grocery lists, scraps of paper, and it’s a start. Maybe tomorrow, I will do a five minute writing exercise. Writers Block, be gone! Has anyone seen my pencil?


Jean was born at a very early age, in Summerside, Prince Edward Island. She immigrated to Lower Canada in the early seventies and never looked back. One of her proudest accomplishments was being published in Legion Magazine. They published a story she wrote about her father in World War 2. Some of her poems are published and some not, but she enjoys writing them anyway.

One response to “Scribbling Away Writer’s Block

  1. Lee Anne Johnston

    I really enjoyed this Jean. Miss you at the meetings! I always remember my first CWC meeting – you did a postcard story for HW about a man returning from war, to reunite with his son and father. It was perfect.

Leave a Reply

