Prose Writing, Revised

by Lee Anne Johnston

Image: ningmilo / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

It can feel very daunting to write prose. At the beginning you get a great idea, or so you think. Doing the research is very satisfying (thank you Google). But too soon it becomes a grind to churn out paragraph after paragraph, try to keep track of your characters’ names, and life histories, as well as incorporate all of that research seamlessly into your narrative.

The method that works best for me is to simply set aside ten to fifteen minutes per day, sit firmly down at the computer, and write. As I am actually pounding away at the keys, I am usually convinced that my creation is trite, boring, loquacious, and badly constructed. Sadly, this is often the case. At least I have a starting point to work with when I begin to revise.

I am ever so grateful to my fellow CWC members for pointing out where I go wrong. I have learned so much from my mistakes at CWC and appreciate every single correction. Criticism is more helpful than praise: my writing is prodded, poked, and shaped into something at least acceptable. At times, it sings.

Thank you.


Lee Anne is a prose writer and has been a member of the CWC for two years. Her love of writing started when she learned to read as a young child. She holds a BA and an MA in English from the University of Toronto. One of Lee Anne’s current works in progress is a Victorian piece set in the City of Cambridge. It is chock full of drama, rich language and time period references. Lee Anne currently lives in Cambridge with her husband and daughter.

Leave a Reply

